Writing Method of Choice

I don’t know if anyone else has this issue, but here’s my dilemma:

I love writing longhand. I feel as though my stories flow better that way, as though I put maybe just a little more thought into how I phrase things. But then, I have to type everything up, essentially giving myself twice the work. This then becomes a problem of time management.

And I also tend to edit as I’m typing, which is both good and bad. If it’s a short story and it’s already completed by the time I’m typing, then it’s good. If it’s a novel and I’m editing as I go, that’s bad because then I get stuck on the little details instead of moving forward with my work.

So usually, I just choose to do my writing on the computer, because it’s easier – and faster. I write pretty fast in longhand, but not nearly as quickly as I can type. Although I like doing both, if I were famous and could afford, say, a secretary, then I would write longhand and get someone else to type it. That would be awesome… lol.

Does anyone else struggle with this kind of thing?

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing Method of Choice

  1. Matt Martin says:

    Me! I write longhand so when it comes time to type it, I have to write the same thing over again. I’m trying to switch to writing on a computer more, but it’s gonna be a slow process. When it comes to academic writing, it’s always longhand because I have to see my ideas on paper before I commit to putting them in final draft category.

    I’m a creature of habit, so it might be a lot harder than I’m thinking lol

Leave a Reply

