Finished a New Short Story

Well, I guess you could say it’s an old short story, because I started it last summer… Regardless, I finished it last night! It came in at just short of 5000 words, most of which were written in the past two days. Now I’m trying to figure out which of my two possible titles is more effective, and whether the story would be stronger with or without my last paragraph. These are some of the reasons I’m so thankful to have the Underground Writers – I can run it by them, and I know they’ll give me honest feedback.

This story is a far cry from the fantasy stuff I usually write. It’s a dark comedy about a serial killer. And the thing is, I think it might be the best short piece I’ve ever written. I’m excited about it, and I can’t wait to hand it over to the writing group to see what they think. I’m hoping to actually *gasp* submit this one! 🙂

I have yet to submit anything, and that’s something I’m definitely hoping to change in the very near future. I have other pieces that are probably ready for submission as well, I just need to get my butt in gear. Within the next month or so, I want to have submitted at least one piece to a market. There it is in black and white, folks, now I have to do it.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

