Geeking Out Over Magnets

I realize how dorky my title sounds, and that’s ok. 🙂

When I’m trying to make up character names (which is absolutely necessary when I’m writing a fantasy novel), I like to use letter magnets. That way, I can play around with the letters until I find a combination that I like, that sounds cool.

Weeeeell, when I tried to find myself some alphabet magnets, I had a hard time finding some. I don’t get it, you would think it would be an easy thing to find, but apparently not. Anyways, considering that I scrapbook and have a crazy amount of stickers and cardboard and stuff, I decided to make my own. So I went to Staples, bought a bunch of magnets, and got to work. Here’s the final product:

My kickass magnets 🙂

I know magnets aren’t exactly an exciting thing to read about, but I like them, and they’re a very helpful writing tool for me. 🙂

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Geeking Out Over Magnets

  1. Matt Martin says:

    Hopefully they help!

    That’s a really creative way to get names of characters…I’ve always just heard the ol’ baby names book trick.

    I’ll have to try the magnets sometime!

    • Sylvie says:

      I do have a baby name book (or two) for when I’m writing something other than fantasy…

      With fantasy though, I feel like it takes longer to find a name that has the right feel for the character, whereas the magnets give me more room to explore until I find a name that’s just right.

      The magnets have already been very helpful in the novel I’m writing now – I have a character name bank going (for the minor characters) and I’ve used some of them in the last few chapters. And names I make up (like Farix for a male character) wouldn’t exist in a baby name book, but it’s perfect for the character, and I think it sounds pretty cool. (Yup, totally aware that I’m biased lol)

Leave a Reply

