The Joys of Outlining

I have been spending the majority of my “writing time” outlining my current novel. It’s fun because these surprising things keep happening. A new character that I thought would be insignificant will have a severe impact on my main character, making her question everything she believed to be true. I can’t wait until I’m done the whole outline for the rest of the book, so that I can write these scenes. Outlining, something I did not do for any of the other novels I’ve tried to write, is something that I couldn’t go without anymore. It is absolutely essential to my writing now, as I don’t get writer’s block nearly as often as I used to. Knowing exactly where I’m going, having a clearly defined path to get there, makes all the difference in the world. At least to me it does. I look forward to the next step in the process, even though I’m having fun with this, too.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

