SHS Meeting Tonight

One of the things that I’ve found that has helped me the most in continuing to write is my wondeful writing group, the Sudbury Hypergraphic Society (SHS). We meet every two weeks, and do writing exercises, talk about what we’ve been writing and what our goals are… We are also involved in the community, organizing a book sale for the end of August, the proceeds of which will go to a literary cause, probably a local elementary school’s library. I love spending time with these people, and I learn a lot from them. I hope to keep growing as a writer, and I hope they continue to help me on that journey.

If someone were to ask me if I have any advice for other aspiring writers, (not that anyone would do that, because I’m far from being an authority on the subject) I would tell them that they should find a group of writers in their area, and meet up with them if possible. Spending time with like-minded people, even if the time isn’t spent writing, is very refreshing and encouraging. It’s not everyone that understands what it’s like to love writing, to struggle with an idea that you can’t seem to put on paper, to have a character surprise you so much that you don’t know what to do with him or her anymore – but others in a writing group do.

That’s what’s on my mind today. I will be updating my word count later, as I plan on doing some more writing before the day is done.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

