Two Books Down, Fifteen-ish to Go…

I am apparently reading at a much slower rate than I’m used to… That, coupled with the fact that I seem to be reading a ridiculous amount of books simultaneously, makes for a long time between reading updates on the blog. I’ve finished the two books I blogged about a few weeks back, but that’s all. I don’t usually write reviews because I prefer focusing my writing energy on more creative pursuits, but I will give my general impressions.

Jean Auel’s The Land of Painted Caves

I started this series when I was young – probably too young to read this kind of thing, actually. It is beyond a doubt one of my favourite series. This, the 6th and final book in the series, was different than the others. I don’t know if it’s just because it’s been so long since I read the others that I don’t really remember, or because my perception has changed in the years since the 5th book was released, but this one seems to focus a lot more on anthropological details. Story-wise, not that much actually happens in this book. It’s still a good read, and if you’ve read the others in the series, you’ll definitely want to read it to find out what happens to the characters, but it feels different. I realize how vague and unhelpful that is, but I can’t quite put my finger on it. And the ending is a little frustrating. I mean, I don’t know if it’s just me, but “and she wondered what that would mean for later generations” is too… open-ended for me.





Jasper Fforde’s One of our Thursdays is Missing

As I mentioned in the previous post about these books, this is also the 6th book of a series. It is also different than the others in the series, because this time, one of the written Thursdays is the main character. Unless you’ve read the previous book in the series, you will have no idea what I’m talking about. I think this is my favourite series of all time. If not, it is definitely in my top 3. Fforde’s silly sense of humour is perfect for a dork like me. I was not disappointed with this book. Although it was different from the other Thursday Next books, I loved it just as much. I can’t emphasize enough how much I love the quirky humour in these books. The fact that my Bachelors in English Literature is actually helpful at understanding some of the references is just a bonus. I definitely, wholeheartedly, recommend this series to book lovers who have a soft spot for the classics and a good sense of humour.


What I’ll be reading next:

I know I said before that I would be reading Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere next, but I will try to finish all the books I’m currently reading before starting a new one. When I’m finally done reading everything I have on the go now, I’ll definitely be picking this up. For now, I’ll be focusing on finishing The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I don’t want to see the movie until I’ve read it all. And also, with NaNo coming up, my reading speed will likely decrease. (Didn’t think that was possible…)


Does anyone else have the habit of reading a million things at once?
S. :)

This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two Books Down, Fifteen-ish to Go…

Leave a Reply

