Gearing Up for NaNoWriMo

My co-ML (Julia) and I are really buckling down and getting everything ready for NaNo. All of our events have been planned and scheduled, our swag has been ordered, and our novels are being planned. Well, my novel is already planned, and I’m pretty sure Julia never outlines, but we’re thinking about our projects and getting in the right frame of mind. I am ridiculously excited about NaNo this year. I mean, I’m excited for NaNo EVERY year, but I feel particularly excited this time. I think it’s because of the fact that I’m working on last year’s project again.


I’ve never finished a novel draft yet. I keep getting bogged down somewhere in the middle and moving on to something else. Well, not this time! Last year, my 50000 words for NaNo made up about 2/3 of the story I wanted to tell. I have a really detailed scene-by-scene outline, and I wrote about 65% of them last year. So what does that mean for this November? Well, I plan on getting all my files together into one master document, and reading it from the beginning. Yes, I realize that gives me about 2 weeks to read it all, but that’s okay. It’s not the end of the world if I don’t manage to finish in time. Anyways, as I’m reading, I will take notes on chapters that I think will need to be re-written. Once I’m done that, I’ll look over my crazy outline from last year, and change things that need to be changed. I stuck pretty closely to my outline, but a few details changed that might have an effect on later chapters. Then, if necessary/if I have time, I’ll re-outline the scenes that need to be re-written.


I don’t expect to need 50000 more words to finish this draft. That’s why I want to re-outline the crappy chapters. Once I’ve finished the draft, I’ll work on those. And then, if that still doesn’t bring me to my 50000 words, I’ll start working on some short stories ideas I’ve had kicking around for the past year or so. It’s true, this plan makes me a NaNo cheater. The goal is to work on a brand new project, and write a complete novel draft. However, my biggest problem as a writer is finishing stuff. I can’t seem to finish anything. (Short stories are the exception, but even that’s a complicated relationship…) For this reason, I think that the best thing for “Sylvie the writer” is to finish a novel draft. I won’t be counting any words that were written prior to midnight November 1st, but I’ll still be “cheating”. I’m strangely okay with that.

Anyone else planning on participating in NaNoWriMo this year?

S. :)

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gearing Up for NaNoWriMo

  1. sounds like with an outline you wont be getting bogged down this time! Good luck!

    • Sylvie says:

      Thanks! I’m feeling good about this novel. I’m convinced that this is the one I’m going to finish. Now I just need to wait for November to come along so I can get it done! :)

Leave a Reply

