The Oxford Comma

Okay, so I realize I’m a day late on this post, but here goes. The random writing-related topic I’ll be discussing today also comes from a conversation I had with Steph from the Underground Writers. (Jeez, I should really invite you to be a guest on my blog since all my posts seem to stem from something you said… lol) Anyone who knows me knows that punctuation is one of my strong suits. I’m anal about punctuation, and its improper use drives me a little nuts. One of the punctuation marks I am rather fond of is the Oxford Comma.

“The Oxford Comma, what the heck is that?” you might ask. It’s the comma in a list that comes before the “and” that ties on the last item. For example, let’s take the title from my last post: Fforde, Auel, and Gaiman – the comma before the “and” is an Oxford Comma. Apparently there’s a debate going on about whether it should stay or go. I, for one, am a firm supporter of the Oxford Comma. It just wouldn’t seem right to me to write without it. I know that sounds overdramatic, but it’s true. It would just be weird.

During that conversation, Steph showed me something that illustrates the importance of this tiny punctuation mark, from thegloss.com . Here it is:

Now try to tell me that a little comma isn’t a big deal!

Opinions on whether the Oxford Comma should stay or go?

S. :)

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Oxford Comma

  1. Piscesmuse says:

    I learnt that they belong and it too drives me crazy when someone tries to edit them out of my work, or any work in general. Also I am recently falling in love with punctuation and the subtleties it can be used for to add nuance to my writing.

Leave a Reply

