So Far, So Good…

I’ve been reevaluating my goals, both long and short term, as well as taking a look at accountability. At the Underground Writers meeting last week, I mentioned that I wanted to find a way to keep myself accountable. Sure, I’m busy, but that’s not an excuse to miss my goals week after week. I will be trying a reward system as opposed to a punishment system. If I meet my weekly writing goals more than 80% of the time until the end of December, I will earn my reward. I haven’t decided exactly what that will be yet (I’m thinking either a PS3 or buying a domain name – thanks to Julia for the brilliant suggestion!) but I’ll figure it out sometime before then.

My goals last week were the following:

- write every day

- reevaluate my long term goals

- figure out a schedule that works for me

I wrote every day but Saturday, which is a HUGE step up for me, ending up with about 1600 words for the week. I even figured out a routine/schedule that I think will work for me. I find it hard to stick to these things, but I’m hoping this time will be different. I need to give myself some slack at first because starting a whole new routine can be rough.

I figured out my goals by the end of December, as well. First, I want to finish and edit Airship Aria, the short story I’ve been working on for AGES (it’s been dubbed “the story that will never die”). I also want to finish writing Siren Song. (I’m going to be working on it again for NaNoWriMo this year. Really looking forward to continuing a project…) And finally, I want to brainstorm and outline two short story ideas that I’ve had kicking around for a while.

My goal for the next week is to write at least 5 of the next 7 days. I’ll update you on that next week – same bat day, same bat channel.

What do you guys do to keep yourselves motivated and accountable when it comes to reaching your goals, whether or not they be about writing?

S. :)

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So Far, So Good…

  1. Oh, I know that feeling of accountability all too well. I’m backlogged with my writing for my thesis (though in my defense, I have been writing a couple of articles here and there)

Leave a Reply

