Short Story Frustration

So I’ve realized something of late, and it drives me a little nuts – I can’t write short stories. Well, I can, but rarely. What mostly happens is that people read it and say: “This isn’t a short story. This needs to be a novel. Or at least a novella.” Why can’t I write a short story that stays a freakin’ short story?!

Julia from the Underground Writers said something to me on Thursday that I think makes sense: “You just think too big!” This is true. I don’t know how to think small; once an idea takes hold in my brain, off goes my imagination, building new settings, and characters, and events. No wonder I can’t write short stories! I don’t know how to turn it off though, or at least turn it down. So I guess I’ll just have to keep trying, and maybe eventually I’ll figure it out. Until then, I’ll probably add many more novel ideas to my already toppling pile.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Short Story Frustration

  1. Sharr Khan says:

    I actually have something of the same issue. Its at least easier for me to get into the mindset to jump into writing an epically long story (um novel) rather then a short form tale.

    Not sure why, but I think it may have something to do with the length and that the kinds of stories I’m telling need to be fully explored before payoff can be reached.

    • Sylvie says:

      Good to know I’m not the only one with this issue!

      I don’t think it’s hard for me to get into the mindset of writing (what I think will be) a short story, it’s just that they never end up STAYING short stories… :P lol

  2. Stephanie says:

    Could be worse. Could have no ideas. ;)

Leave a Reply

